Human-Centric Design Research Laboratory
@ Texas Tech University


Dr. Yang











James Yang, Ph.D., Fellow SAE and ASME


Director, Human-Centric Design Research Laboratory

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Texas Tech University

Lubbock, TX79409

Tel: 806-834-6746

Fax: 806-742-3540

Click here to visit faculty website

Biographical Sketch

Dr. Yang is a Professor, Fellow SAE and ASME, and Director of Human-Centric Design Research Laboratory, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas.


Dr. Yang received his BS and MS degrees in Automotive Engineering from Jilin University, China, in 1989 and 1992, respectively. He received his Ph.D. degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Iowa in 2003.


Dr. Yang was a Fulbright US Scholar (2017-2018) with Navy Academy, Spain. He was an Ed and Linda Whitacre Faculty Fellow from 2016 to 2019 and Associate Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Texas Tech University from May 2015 to August 2017. Prior to joining Texas Tech University in 2008, he was a Research Engineer at the Center for Computer Aided Design, and an Adjunct Assistant Professor with the Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, the University of Iowa from August 2003 to August 2008. He was also a faculty member at the Department of Automotive Engineering, Tsinghua University, and a senior researcher at the State Key Laboratory of Automotive Safety and Energy Conservation, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China from 1992 to 1998.


Dr. Yang is the recipient of the following awards:

·        Arch T. Colwell Merit Award from Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) (2003)

·        Outstanding Paper Award from American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) (2005)

·        Prometheus Award "Top Government Technology of the Year" (2007)

·        Whitacre Excellence in Research Award (TTU) (2011)

·        TTU Alumni Association New Faculty Award (TTU) (2011)

·        Faculty Research Award from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, TTU (2011)

·        Air Force Summer Faculty Fellowship (Wright Peterson Airforce Base) (2012)

·        SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award (SAE) (2012)

·        Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award from the Center for Undergraduate Research, TTU (2012)

·        A Most Influential Professor Award in 2012 from the Whitacre College of Engineering, TTU

·        Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Research Award, TTU System (the highest honor for research outstanding at TTU System) (2012)

·        ASME IDETC/CIE Advanced Modeling and Simulation Best Paper Award (ASME) (2015)

·        ASME IDETC/CIE Advanced Vehicle Technology Best Student Paper Award (ASME) (2016)

·         Fellow, SAE (2016 Class)

·         Ed and Linda Whitacre Faculty Fellowship (2016-2019, TTU)

·        MTNA e-Journal Article of The Year, Music Teachers National Association (2017)

·        Fulbright US Scholarship (2017-2018)

·        Fellow, ASME (2018)

·        Senior Member, IEEE (2018)

·        Apple Polishing Award, Mortar Board at TTU (2021)

·        “Most Influential” Faculty Member in 2021 at TTU (2021)

·        ASME IDETC/CIE Advanced Vehicle Technology Best Student Paper Award (2022)


Dr. Yang is Fellow of Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Senior Member of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and a member of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and American Society of Biomechanics.


Dr. Yang is currently Associate Editor for the following journals:

·         IEEE Transactions on Human-Machine Systems (2016-)

·         ASME Journal of Mechanisms and Robotics (2019-)

·         Ergonomics in Design (2021-)

·         Journal of Mechanics in Medicine and Biology (2018-)

·         International Journal of Human Factors Modelling and Simulation (IJHFMS) (Executive Editor: 2004-2016) (Associate Editor: 2016-)

·         International Journal of Robotics and Automation (IJRA) (2004-2019)

·         Human Factors and Ergonomics in Manufacturing and Service Industries (2016-)


Editorial Advisory Board Member for International Journal of Industrial Ergonomics (2016-), Automotive Innovation (2019-), and the Open Ergonomics Journal (2007-2018), and Guest Editor for Special Issues of IISE Transactions on Occupational Ergonomics and Human Factors (2021), International Journal of Vehicle Design (IJVD) (2011), and International Journal of Vehicle Autonomous Systems (IJVAS) (2009).


Dr. Yang's research interests are in digital human modeling and simulation, biomechanics, spine biomechanics, healthcare engineering, vehicle dynamics/autonomous vehicle, and robotics/soft robotics/robot-human interaction.


Research Activities

Please visit Human-Centric Design Research (HCDR) Laboratory

Teaching Activities

ME2301 Statics (Su I 17)

ME2302 Dynamics (F 09, 11, 15; Sp. 10, 13; Su-II 13-Germany, Su-II 14-Spain; Su-I 15, 16, 21)

ME3333 Dynamic Systems and Vibrations (Sp. 14, 15, 18, 20, 22; F 14, 18, 20, 21, 22)

ME4334 Control of Dynamic Systems (F 16)

ME4370 Engineering Design I (F 08, 10; Sp. 09, 12, 23)

ME5311 Advanced Dynamics (Sp. 17)

ME5317 Robotics and Machine Dynamics (Sp. 20)

ME5356 Digital Human Modeling for Human-Centric Design (F 10,13; Sp. 16, 19)

ME6330 Vehicle Dynamics (Sp. 18, F19)
ME6330 Computational Multibody Dynamics (Sp. 21)

        Since April 4, 2022